ECF-14 conferences of ESIS

Professor André Pineau, Chairman of the Awards Committee, was pleased to announce that his tasks were satisfactorily completed following lengthy discussions with his committee members, and that Awards, Medals and Certificates would be presented at the Closing Ceremony of ECF14 on Friday. Additionally, several Certificates had been prepared for presentation to authors who had submitted high-quality publications in the ESIS-sponsored international journal: “Fatigue & Fracture of Engineering Materials and Structures” (FFEMS). These certificates would be given to the winners by Professor Ian Howard, who is an Editor of the FFEMS journal. An announcement will be made in a future issue of the journal. The ESIS Medals and Awards for 2002 were as follows:


Professor Wolfgang Brocks

for his outstanding research work in the field of deformation and fracture of metals and in the numerical modeling of ductile an brittle fracture.


Professor Michael W Brown

for all his outstanding contributions to the understanding of fatigue behavior, especially those devoted to multiaxial loading.


Professor Dietrich Munz

for his outstanding contributions in the field of fatigue and fracture materials and structures, and for his work devoted to the development of the European Structural Integrity Society.


Professor Viggo Tvergaard

for his outstanding contributions in the numerical modeling of fatigue, creep and fracture behavior of materials and for the development of related researches in Europe.

Leave A Comment

Table of content
Related articles
  • On the occasion of the 20th European Conference on Fracture in Trondheim, ESIS President Prof. Leslie Banks-Sills and ECF20 Chairman Prof. Zhiliang Zhang conferred the ESIS Awards. The Wöhler Medal was awarded to Prof. Reinhard Pippan for his seminal contributions to the effect of severe plastic deformation on fatigue. The Griffith Medal was awarded to Prof. Gordon Williams for[...]

  • On the occasion of the 18th European Conference on Fracture in Dresden, ESIS President Prof. Gdoutos and ECF18 Chairman Prof. Klingbeil conferred the ESIS Awards: Griffith Medal to Prof. E. Gdoutos ‘‘for his seminal contributions in mixed-mode fracture and failure mechanisms of sandwich structures”. Wöhler Medal to Prof. A. Saxena ‘‘for his outstanding and seminal contributions on[...]

  • ESIS President Prof. Gdoutos and ECF17 Chaimen conferred the ESIS Awards during the Social Dinner: - Griffith Medal to Prof A. Carpinteri, “for his outstanding theoretical results achieved in the field of fracture mechanics and their successful applications, especially those devoted to the improvement of structural integrity in civil engineering”; - Wöhler Medal to[...]