Due to the Covid 2019, ECF23 (Funchal, Maderia) was postponed to 2022. In 2020, the 1st Virtual European Conference on Fracture was held online and the Awards and the Fellowships were conferment only virtually, postponing to 2022 the ceremony in presence in Funchal (Madeira, Portugal).

  • The Griffith Medal: Meinhard Kuna
  • The Wohler Medal: Youshi Hong
  • The Award of Merit: Jose Correia
  • The Honorary Membership: Stavros Kourkoulis

Griffith medal

Meinhard Kuna

Wohler Medal

Youshi Hong

Award of Merit

Jose Correia

Honorary Membership

Stavros Kourkoulis


Table of content
Related articles
  • On the occasion of the 18th European Conference on Fracture in Dresden, ESIS President Prof. Gdoutos and ECF18 Chairman Prof. Klingbeil conferred the ESIS Awards: Griffith Medal to Prof. E. Gdoutos ‘‘for his seminal contributions in mixed-mode fracture and failure mechanisms of sandwich structures”. Wöhler Medal to Prof. A. Saxena ‘‘for his outstanding and seminal contributions on[...]

  • ESIS President Prof. Gdoutos and ECF17 Chaimen conferred the ESIS Awards during the Social Dinner: - Griffith Medal to Prof A. Carpinteri, “for his outstanding theoretical results achieved in the field of fracture mechanics and their successful applications, especially those devoted to the improvement of structural integrity in civil engineering”; - Wöhler Medal to[...]

  • ECF-16 conferences of ESIS In connection with the ECF-16 conference ESIS President presented the ESIS Awards to the awardees. From left to right: Professor Emmanuel Gdoutos, Professor Bhushan Karihaloo, Professor Alberto Carpinteri, Professor Leslie Banks-Sills, Professor Robert Ritchie, Professor Andrzej Neimitz Professor Bhushan Karihaloo"For his outstanding research in the field of theoretical fracture mechanics and[...]